PRM / MFA: Save-the-date: Media accreditation for Ministerial Meeting of the Arctic Council

    Pressemeddelelse fra Ulkoministeriö / Utrikesministeriet

    Finland holds the Chairmanship of the Arctic Council from 2017 to 2019.

    The Ministerial Meeting in Rovaniemi on 7 May 2019 will be the last event during Finland’s Chairmanship.

    Media representatives can start to submit their accreditation applications after mid-March. Further instructions will be published after that.


    The Arctic Council focuses on sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.

    The Council holds ministerial meetings approximately every two years.

    The Finnish Chairmanship began in 2017, and will run through the Ministerial Meeting in Rovaniemi on 7 May 2018, where the Chairmanship will be transferred to Iceland.

    The eight Arctic States are Canada, Denmark , Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden, and the United States.

    The six indigenous peoples’ Permanent Participant organizations are the Aleut International Association, the Arctic Athabaskan Council, the Gwich’In Council International, the Inuit Circumpolar Council, the Saami Council, and the Russian Association of Indigenous People of the North.

    More information about media accreditation:

    Miia Vihola, Communications Assistant, tel. +358 40 5908 741

    More information about Finland’s Chairmanship of the Arctic Council

    The Foreign Ministry’s email addresses are of the format

    Læs hele pressemeddelelsen på Via Ritzau her: